Milestone for SA and the Cheetahs as Coetzee hits 50

Cape Town – Aranos Coetzee will be the first South African
player to earn his 50th PRO14 cap for a South African side
when the Cheetahs take on Leinster on Saturday. 

Coach Hawies Fourie believes
that Coetzee is a key member of his side and the calmness he
gives the side in the set-piece has seen it become one of their attacking
weapons – and certainly one they will need to use on Saturday in Dublin. 

Action at the RDS Arena in Dublin kicks off at 16:30 (SA time) with the match to be broadcast live on SuperSport 2.

Fourie has made just one change to
the Cheetahs team that thrashed the Southern Kings 45-0 in their last match a fortnight ago in Bloemfontein, with Gerhard Olivier returning from injury, replacing
Daniel Maartens on the bench. 

While they will be firm underdogs given
Leinster’s form, Fourie believes that the key factor for his team is their
attitude and whether they give themselves a chance against a Leinster side
missing several Irish internationals.

“We are going there with the knowledge they are the strongest team in the
competition, but we know if we pitch up on the day, then we will have a chance to
win. And if you don’t think you have a chance to win, then you might as well
not be in this competition.”



15 Rob Kearney, 14 Fergus McFadden, 13 Jimmy O’Brien, 12 Joe Tomane, 11 Dave Kearney, 10 Ciarán Frawley, 9 Luke McGrath, 8 Max Deegan, 7 Will Connors, 6 Rhys Ruddock, 5 Scott Fardy (captain), 4 Ross Molony, 3 Michael Bent, 2 Ronan Kelleher, 1 Peter Dooley

Substitutes: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Michael Milne, 18 Roman Salanoa, 19 Ryan Baird, 20 Scott Penny, 21 Jamison Gibson-Park, 22 Harry Byrne, 23 Cian Kelleher


15 Rhyno Smith, 14 Clayton
Blommetjies, 13 William Small-Smith, 12 Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 11 Rabz
Maxwane, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Ruan Pienaar (captain), 8 Jasper Wiese, 7 Junior
Pokomela, 6 Chris Massyn, 5 JP du Preez, 4 Walt Steenkamp, 3 Aranos Coetzee, 2
Joseph Dweba, 1 Charles Marais

Substitutes: 16 Wilmar Arnoldi, 17
Boan Venter, 18 Luan de Bruin, 19 Aidon Davis, 20 Gerhard Olivier,
21 Tian Meyer, 22.Louis Fouche, 23 Chris Smit

Comments (0)

Leave Comment

Your email address will not be published.